Skip to main content

Riegel & Emory HR Center


The Riegel & Emory Human Resource (HR) Center is devoted to supporting research and education in the area of Human Resources. The Center was founded in 1982 with the support of an endowment provided by the Riegel & Emory Corporation. This endowment, combined with the support provided by members of the Riegel & Emory HR Advisory Board, has funded numerous research projects in the HR area. Research topics funded by the Center include work values, teams in the multinational corporation, HR outsourcing, workplace dispute resolution, HR and the M&A process, and organizational restructuring. Guided by the Advisory Board, the Center also works to promote education in the HR field. Funding from members of the Advisory Board has been used to fund student fellowships and a wide-array of instructional initiatives.

A critical element to success of the Riegel & Emory HR Center has been the active involvement of the Advisory Board. The Advisory Board works closely with members of the faculty to ensure that USC’s program and initiatives in the HR area are meeting the needs of students, organizations, and society.

Moore School faculty share their perspectives on the Riegel & Emory HR Board.

Lifetime advisory board members

Russell Boekenheide
Cary W. Campbell
E. M. Halkyard
John H. Stern
Joseph C. Ullman

Current Advisory Board Members  

Orlando Ashford Mercer 
Jim Bethmann Caldwell Partners International
Stephen Bohannon  Lockton Companies 
Lori Boruch Eaton Corporation
Joseph Bouknight ScanSource, Inc.
Jeremy Braidish Honeywell International
Kenneth Carrig SunTrust Bank 
Marc A. Chini General Electric Corporation
Mauro A. Cieri Compass Group
Peter Cook  Quintiles Inc. 
Dan Ellzey Fisher and Phillips, LLP
Jason Farr Coca-Cola 
Craig Gomez Chobani, Inc. 
Tore Haakonsson Vestas Nacelles
Chris Hage Duke Energy Corporation
Elizabeth Haney General Information Services, Inc.
Ryland Harrelson  TSYS 
Dave Hollman URS Corporation
Carol R. Hutnek ExxonMobil
David Jarrett Clariant Corporation
Katie Jones  SunTrust Bank 
John Joseph  International Paper 
Janet Krupka  Michelin North America 
Charles Leaman  Belden Corporation 
Ray Lewis  Allegion
David Loeser Unisys
Kevin Lord Gannett Co, Inc.
Allan McLeland  Sonoco
Janine McManus SonePar USA
John Murabito CIGNA Corporation
Ben Novy Vail Resorts 
Brad Patrick  Tempur Sealy International, Inc. 
Marty Phalen  SCANA Corporation 
John Pryor  Southeastern Freight Lines, Inc. 
Darrin Rohr Bridgestone Americas, Inc.
Rob Rosenberg  DHL Supply Chain 
Don Sain  Windstream Corp. 
Greg Smith   Pepsi
Skip Spriggs  TIAA-CREF
James E. Stone Frost HR Consulting
Edward R. Tetreault Apex Tool Group, LLC
Russell Tooley  Tyson
Ann Weiser Activision Blizzard (retired)
Debra West Boston Scientific 
Dale Wunder  Shell Oil Corporation