Skip to main content

Faculty

Tenure Track

Nancy R. Buchan, Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania, 1998
Academic Research Interests:  Building and maintenance of fairness, trust and cooperation in cross-cultural relationships
nancy.buchan@moore.sc.edu 

William R. Folks, Jr., D.B.A.
Director, CIBER
Harvard University, 1970
Academic Research Interests:  International business, banking, finance
rfolks@moore.sc.edu 

Omrane Guedhami, Ph.D.
Laval University, 2003
Academic Research Interests:  Privatization, liberalization, and corporate governance, with a particular focus on emerging markets
omrane_guedhami@moore.sc.edu 

Tatiana Kostova, Ph.D.
Buck Mickel Chair and Professor of International Business
University of Minnesota, 1996
Academic Research Interests:  International management, knowledge management in MNCs, legitimacy of MNCs, social capital in MNCs
kostova@moore.sc.edu 

Chuck C.Y. Kwok, Ph.D.
Charles W. Coker, Sr. Distinguished Moore Fellow
University of Texas, 1984
Academic Research Interests:  International financial management, international business education, and business in Pacific Asia
ckwok@moore.sc.edu 

Sali Li, Ph.D.
University of Utah, 2007 
Academic Research Interests:  Global strategy, competitiveness, emerging markets, innovation and clusters.
sali.li@moore.sc.edu 

Gerald A. McDermott, Ph.D.
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1998
Academic Research Interests:  Institutional change, global strategy, business-government relations, emerging markets, especially Latin America, East-Central Europe 
gerald.mcdermott@moore.sc.edu 

Lite Nartey, Ph.D.
The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania, 2008
Academic Research Interests:  Business-government & business-society dynamics, political risk & nonmarket strategies, stakeholder engagement, [strategic] corporate social responsibility & business ethics, African investment & development
lite.nartey@moore.sc.edu

Robert J. Rolfe, Ph.D.
University of Oklahoma, 1983
Academic Research Interests:  Competitive strategies in developing countries, micro-finance, foreign investment in Africa
rolfer@moore.sc.edu 

Kendall Roth, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Dean for International Programs and Partnerships
Chair, Sonoco International Business Department
J. Willis Cantey Chair for International Business and Economics

University of South Carolina, 1986
Academic Research Interests:  Competition in global industries, global strategy implementation, top management decision making
kroth@moore.sc.edu 

Andrew Spicer, Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania, 1998
Academic Research Interests:  Organizational and institutional change in post-communist economies
aspicer@moore.sc.edu 

Hildy Teegen, Ph.D.
University of Texas, 1993
Academic Research Interests:  Global business and interactions between firms, governments, and nongovernmental organizations; strategic and economic valuation of resources contributed by negotiating parties; cross-cultural interactions, strategic and societal impact of collaboration and associated economic development considerations
teegen@moore.sc.edu 

Marc van Essen, Ph.D.
Erasmus University, 2011
Academic Research Interests: Comparative corporate governance; institution-based view of business strategy; ownership concentration; ownership identity; meta-analytic research methods.
marc.vanessen@moore.sc.edu

Clinical Faculty

Ken C. Erickson, Ph.D.
University of Kansas, 1995
Academic Research Interests: Business anthropology; retail in urban and rural China; microbusiness; ethnographic methods.
ken.erickson@moore.sc.edu

Frank Rydzewski, MBA
Drexel University, 1974
Academic Research Interests: Strategy, Product Management, and Globalization, as well as undergraduate instruction in International Business & Marketing Field Studies
frank.rydzewski@moore.sc.edu

Daniel Ostergaard, MPA, MA National Security and Strategic Studies
Harvard University, 2004
U.S. Naval War College, 2003
Academic Research Interests:  National security and international business; strategic natural resources; business-government relations. 
daniel.ostergaard@moore.sc.edu

Adjunct Faculty

David A. Ricks, Ph.D.
Indiana University, 1970
Academic Research Interests:  Understanding cultural differences, cross-cultural communication problems, causes and methods of preventing international business blunders, ethical issues in international business, and international business challenges and opportunities in Central Europe.
rickswild@aol.com

Sonya Kostadinova, MIBS
University of South Carolina, 1998
Academic Research Interests: International Trade, the complexity of management decision making in constantly changing global political, macroeconomic, and business environment, private-government-academic partnerships, incubators of global entrepreneurship and drivers of economic growth
sonyak@transcontrading.com

Emeritus Faculty

James A. Kuhlman, Ph.D.

Northwestern University, 1971
Academic Research Interests:  East-west business, political risk assessment/management
jkuhlman@moore.sc.edu